|联系我们  Global

如何评价一台 AFM?

goodman

购买原子力显微镜时,根据最终的系统应用状况,许多因素是很重要的。当用户对原子力显微镜系统进行评价时,这些因素会产生一系列特别的问题。对个体用户来说,比较重要的问题包括:

  • 该系统是设计用于工业生产或用于研究?
  • 该系统是否将安装于多用户设施中?
  • 该系统是否能够支持我所需的可用选项?
  • 该系统对初级用户来说,使用起来是否简单?
  • 该原子力显微镜系统是否适合高端用户使用?

上述问题及其他许多问题普遍存在于客户收集原子力显微镜系统信息的过程中。一旦上述问题得到答案,便可编制一系列可行的系统。用户需要对这些系统进行深入比较,从而找出最符合其总体要求的系统。

为了达到这个目的,Park Systems公司针对“何谓良好的原子力显微镜?”这个问题编制了一份我们认为比较全面的概览。

 

基本因素

从历史上看,虽然原子力显微镜已被证明是测定样品相对尺寸的可靠工具,但是它仍难以测定出表面形貌准确的绝对尺度。由于在研究及工业应用中测量尺度级别变得越来越小,因此当前使用原子力显微镜准确多次测量地表形态的绝对尺度显得空前重要。

为了进行纳米级计量,测量结果的准确性与可靠性以及可用模式和选项的灵活性与分辨率同样重要。原子力显微镜系统的性能将会受以下特性的影响:

  • Noise Floor (本底噪声)
  • XY Scan Flatness (XY扫描平坦度)
  • XY Scan Linearity (XY扫描直线性)
  • Tip Life (针尖寿命)
  • Thermal Drift (热漂移)
  • Available SPM Modes (可用扫描探针显微镜模式)
  • Option Compatibility (选项兼容性)
 

本底噪

noise-zero-scan
图1.. 本底噪声通过采用零扫描计进行测量,在零扫描过程中针尖放置在样品表面上,然后将0 x 0纳米的256 x 256像素扫描仪放大0.5倍进行扫描。一个点的扫描信号与仪器的本底噪声相对应。

即使最小的环境振动都可增加原子力显微镜测量结果的噪音成分,使其很难反映最小的细节或描述平坦度最高的表面。为了测定基底噪音或本底噪声,用户将悬臂放置在样品表面,并获得系统对零扫描所作出的反应(见图1)。良好的原子力显微镜必须远离振动,从而使噪音本底低于0.5A。

  • 0 x 0纳米扫描,集中在一个点上。
  • 放大0.5倍,使用接触模式。
  • 256 x 256像素
 

XY扫描平坦度

z run-out
图2.  Z偏摆或离面运动是扫描量变曲线在没有任何软件校正(样品倾斜校正除外)时的峰谷高度(不高于一级平面拟合)。样品可以是光学平面(参考反射镜)或满足原子力显微镜校准标准的一个平面部分。
原子力显微镜扫描器是原子力显微镜最重要的组成部分,因为该扫描器的性能能够决定原子力显微镜成像结果的准确性。因此,检查扫描器的功能度,例如高位非线性背景运动,从而避免所获得原子力显微镜图像出现扭曲。

因此,在平面的成像过程中,消费者必须挑选一个能够将离面运动最小化的扫描器设计。不管扫描率(见图3)、扫描尺度或扫描偏移度(见图4)有多大,一个好的原子力显微镜扫描器都必须能够将Z离面运动控制在整个扫描范围的几纳米以内。
 
xy-plane-motion-100
图3. 对于一个好的原子力显微镜,其典型的离面运动在整个100μm 扫描范围内低于+/- 2nm,在扫描率0.5、1及2赫兹时,其重复率小于0.5纳米。重复率是指两次或多次扫描获得的平均量变曲线的最大变化值。本试验可在X轴及Y轴两个快速扫描方向上进行。
xy-plane-motion-40
图4. 对于一个好的原子力显微镜,其典型的离面运动在40 μm 扫描范围内低于+/- 2nm,在X轴和Y轴位移量为(0, 0)、(25um, 25um)、(25um, -25um)、(-25um, 25um)及 (-25um, -25um)时,其重复率小于0.5纳米。重复率是指两次或多次扫描获得的平均量变曲线的最大变化值。本试验可在X轴及Y轴两个快速扫描方向上进行。
 

XY扫描线性度

xy-linearity-mismatching
图5. X-Y线性度是在改变快速扫描轴方向后,通过匹配两个正交扫描结果求得的。试验可在大小为40 x 40um的地方,采用随机位移坐标进行。
xy-linearity-matching
图6. 对于好的原子力显微镜而言,两次正交扫描不会存在明显的匹配不当,且能够获得良好的XY轴扫描线性。

 

XY轴扫描线性度是原子力显微镜的另外一个重要评估指标,它能够决定原子力显微镜能够提高的成像精确度。若X轴与Y轴扫描活动是结合在一起的,则在管型扫描器中,X轴方向上的延长将直接影响到扫描器的Y轴位置。XY轴扫描线性度是通过如图5所示方法两次正交扫描与匹配的图像进行测量的。扫描器所形成的两个图像的不匹配量将显示出X轴与Y轴扫描活动的线性度。

 

因此,消费者必须挑选一个能够将XY轴扫描线性度最大化的扫描器设计。不管扫描率(见图7)、扫描尺度或扫描位移度(见图8)有多大,一个好的原子力显微镜扫描器在任何坐标下(见图6)都必须能够将XY轴扫描线性度控制在低于0.05%以内。

 

xy-orthogonal-scan-01
图7. 好的原子力显微镜不得出现两次正交扫描匹配不当的情况,且在1赫兹或2赫兹下的扫描率下,能够获得良好的XY轴扫描线性度。
xy-orthogonal-scan-02
图8. 良好的原子力显微镜不得出现两个正交扫描匹配不当的情况,且在X轴和Y轴位移量为(0, 0)、(25um, 25um)、(25um, -25um)、(-25um, 25um)及(-25um, -25um)时,能够获得良好的XY轴扫描线性度。
 

探针寿命

对于获得高稳定性及高可靠性的高质量图像来说,针尖寿命是一个重要因素。若针尖接触样品后变钝,则它可能限制原子力显微镜的分辨率,从而降低扫描图像的质量。对于比较柔软的样品,针尖面接触会损坏样品及针尖,使得样品高度测量时的不准确可能性更高。因此,保持针尖的完整无损才能够使原子力显微镜能够持续拥有高分辨率并获得精确的数据。

 

测试原子力显微镜系统的针尖寿命的好方法就是通过扫描CrN,CrN非常坚固的表面上有锋利尖细物体。若针尖变钝或受损,它将无法达到尖细物体底部,从而所获得的扫描图像将变得很模糊。对于好的原子力显微镜,即使对CrN样品进行100次图像扫描(如图9所示),它依然能够保持针尖的锐度,同时能够保持样品的表面粗糙度(见图10)。

 

tip-wearing-experiment-CrN
图9. 我们可以通过CrN样品(所谓的针尖测试器)简单地进行针尖磨损实验。对于好的原子力显微镜而言,即使进行100次扫描后,它依然能够保持针尖的尖度。若针尖寿命不够长,我们所获得图像将是模糊的,没有尖锐、三角形物体,这是针尖磨损导致的后果。
tip-sharpness-value
图10. 对于好的原子力显微镜,它能够保持针尖的锐度,同时能够保持样品表面粗糙度。
 

热漂移

原子力显微镜针尖可能由于仪器内部机械部件的热膨胀或收缩而进行不需要的位运动。我们必须使这种不需要的位移运动(被称为热漂移)最小化,从而能够对小于1μm的样品进行准确扫描。通过标注出样品表面的特征物位置,然后测量出几次扫描后针尖与这些位置点的偏移度,从而测出XY轴方向上的漂移速率。对于好的原子力显微镜,其漂移速率一般低于1.5 nm/min/℃。

xy-drift-Si-wafer
图11. 在此XE-100原子力显微镜例子中,在连续2 x 2 um, 256 x 256像素、扫描频率为1赫兹的连续扫描过程中,使用了硅晶片上的一个小小纳米颗粒作为参考点。此类扫描是在将新样品及新悬臂被装到XE-100原子力显微镜之后进行的,在扫描之前没有进行任何系统预热。所测得的X轴漂移速率为0.738 nm/min而所测得的Y轴漂移速率为0.523 nm/min。
 

可用扫描探针显微镜模式

自从80年代发明使用之后,原子力显微镜已经发展成为作用最强的一种纳米测量工具。现在,用户将原子力显微镜作为描述很多物理性质的一种功能性工具,而具体应用模式根据消费者的样品及应用需求不同而不同。其中,特别重要的一种模式是扫描探针显微镜模式,该模式具有以下特征:

  • 标准成像
  • 化学特性
  • 介质特性/压电特性
  • 力值测量
  • 电气特性
  • 液体内成像
  • 磁性
  • 力学性能
  • 光学特性
  • 热力学特性
 

选择兼容性

一个好的原子力显微镜必须能够提供广泛的选择兼容性,从而使其能在不同条件及样品环境下,都能测得相应数据,特别是以下环境:

  • 具有低内聚的超级发光二级管光源
  • 扫描范围为25微米的Z扫描器
  • 加热&冷却样品台
  • 容器的液体测量
  • 通电细胞室
  • 机动化XY轴样品台
  • 信号取出模块
  • 自动连续成像的阶段功能及扫描功能
  • 可调磁场发生器
 

What is a Good AFM | Atomic Force Microscopy

|Contact Us

What is a Good AFM?

goodman

When purchasing an AFM, it is important to evaluate it as a whole. There are several features that could be important depending on the final system application. Before making a purchase, you should ask yourself the following questions:

  • Is the system designed for industrial or research applications?
  • Is the system going to be installed in a multi-user facility?
  • Will the system support all of the available options that I need?
  • Is the system easy to use for low-level users? Is the AFM powerful enough for high-end users?

Once these questions have been answered, and a list of viable systems has been compiled, the user needs to make a fundamental comparison of the units that best meet their requirements.

In order to help you with this process, we’ve put together a comprehensive overview of what makes a good AFM.

 

The Basics

Historically AFMs have proven themselves reliable instrument for determining relative sample dimensions but have struggled to provide accurate absolute dimensions of surface features. As the dimensions found in research and industrial applications become smaller and smaller, it is now more important than ever for AFMs to measure the absolute dimensions of surface features with accuracy and repeatability.

For taking nanoscale measurements, the accuracy and reliability of measurements and the flexibility of available modes and options are just as important as resolution.

AFM performance is influenced by the following seven attributes:

  • Noise Floor
  • XY Scan Flatness
  • Tip Life
  • Thermal Drift
  • Available SPM Modes
  • Option Compatibility
 

Noise Floor

noise-zero-scan
Figure 1. The noise floor is measured by taking a "zero scan," in which the tip is brought to the sample surface, and a 0 x 0 nm, 256 x 256 pixel scan with 0.5 gain is performed. The signal for this scan of just one point corresponds to the noise floor of the instrument .

Even the smallest environmental vibrations can add noise to AFM results, making it a challenge to image very small details and characterize the flattest surfaces. To measure the baseline noise, or noise floor, the user brings the cantilever to the sample surface and obtains the system response to a "zero scan" (See Figure 1). A good AFM should be isolated from vibrations to achieve a noise floor below 0.5A

  • 0 x 0 nm scan, staying in one point
  • 0.5 gain, in contact mode
  • 256 x 256 pixels
 

XY Scan Flatness

z run-out
Figure 2. The Z run-out, or out-of-plane motion, is the peak to valley height of scan profiles without any software correction except for the sample tilt correction (no higher than 1st order plane fitting). The sample can either be an optical flat (reference mirror) or a flat portion on an AFM calibration standard.
The AFM scanner is the most important component of any AFM, as its performance determines the accuracy of the imaging results. It is very important to determine if there are any scanner artifacts, such as high-order and non-linear background motions, to avoid distorting the resulting AFM image.(see Figure 2)

A customer must look for a scanner design which minimizes out-of-plane motion when imaging a flat surface. A good AFM scanner must keep the Z out-of plane motion within a few nanometers over the entire scan range, independent of scan rate (see Figure 3), scan size, and scanner offset (see Figure 4).
 
xy-plane-motion-100
Figure 3. Typical out of plane motion of a good AFM has less than +/- 2nm over the entire 100μm scan area, having repeatability < 0.5 nm at scan rates 0.5, 1, and 2 Hz. The repeatability is defined as the maximum variation between the averaged profiles of two or more scans. The tests can be done in both fast scan directions of X and Y.
xy-plane-motion-40
Figure 4. Typical out of plane motion of a good AFM has less than +/- 2nm over 40μm scan range, having repeatability < 0.5 nm with XY offsets of (0, 0), (25μm, 25μm), (25μm, -25μm), (-25μm, 25μm) and (-25μm, -25μm). The repeatability is defined as the maximum variation between the averaged profiles of two or more scans. The tests can be done in both fast scan directions of X and Y.
 

XY Scan Linearity

xy-linearity-mismatching
Figure 5. The X-Y linearity is evaluated by matching two orthogonal scans after changing the direction of the fast scan axis. A test can be performed on a 40μm x 40μm size site at a random offset coordinate.
xy-linearity-matching
Figure 6. A good AFM should show no visible mismatch in the two orthogonal scans, demonstrating the excellent XY scan linearity.

 

The XY scan linearity is another important feature that affects the accuracy of the imaging results an AFM can provide. If the X and Y scan movements are coupled, as in a tube scanner, an extension in the X direction will directly influence the scanner’s Y position. The XY scan linearity is measured using two orthogonal scans and subsequent image matching as shown in Figure 5. The amount of mismatch in two images taken by the scanner will reveal how linear its X and Y scan movements are.

 

To get the best results, customers should look for a scanner design which maximizes the XY scan linearity. A good AFM scanner must keep the XY scan linearity less than 0.05% at a random coordinate (see Figure 6), independent of scan rate (see Figure 7) , scan size, and scanner offset (see Figure 8).

 

xy-orthogonal-scan-01
Figure 7. A good AFM should show no visible mismatch in the two orthogonal scans, demonstrating the excellent XY scan linearity, at different scan rates of 1 and 2 Hz.
xy-orthogonal-scan-02
Figure 8. A good AFM should show no visible mismatch in the two orthogonal scans, demonstrating the excellent XY scan linearity with XY offsets of (0, 0), (25μm, 25μm), (25μm, -25μm), (-25μm, 25μm) and (-25μm, -25μm)
 

Tip Life

Tip life is an important factor in getting high-quality images with consistency and reliability. When the tip touches the sample and becomes blunt, it limits the resolution of the AFM and reduces the quality of the image. For softer samples, tip-surface contact damages the sample as well as the tip, compounding the inaccuracies of sample height measurements. Consequently, preserving tip integrity enables consistent high-resolution and accurate data.

 

A good way to test the tip life of an AFM system is by imaging CrN, which has sharp and pointy features on a very hard surface. If a tip becomes blunt or damaged, it can no longer reach the bottom of the features, and the images become blurred.With a good AFM, the sharpness of the tip can be preserved even after 100 image scans of the CrN sample as shown in Figure 9, while maintaining the same sample surface roughness (see Figure 10).

 

tip-wearing-experiment-CrN
Figure 9. One can easily perform tip wearing experiment with CrN sample, so called Tip Checker. With a good AFM, the sharpness of the tip is preserved even after 100 scans. If tip life is not long enough, one can see blurred images without sharp triangular features which are consequences of worn and damaged tips.
tip-sharpness-value
Figure 10. With a good AFM, the sharpness of the tip is preserved, and the sample surface roughness value remains the same.
 

Thermal Drift

An AFM tip may experience undesired motion due to the thermal expansion or contraction of mechanical parts within the instrument. This undesired motion, called thermal drift, must be minimized to accurately image samples smaller than 1 μm. The drift rates in the X and Y directions are determined by marking the locations of characteristic structures on the sample surface and measuring deviations from these points after several scans. A good AFM has a drift rate smaller than 1.5 nm/minute/oC.

xy-drift-Si-wafer
Figure 11. In this XE-100 example, a small nanoparticle on a Si wafer is used as a reference point during sequential scans at 2 x 2 um, 256 x 256 pixels, with a 1 Hz scan rate. The scans were taken after a fresh new sample and a new cantilever were loaded to the XE-100, without any system warm-up prior to the scans. The measured X drift rate was 0.738 nm/min and the Y drift rate was 0.523 nm/min
 

Available SPM Modes

Today’s AFMs can characterize a wide range of physical properties, depending on the specific sample and application needs of the customer. Of particular importance are the SPM modes which probe the following properties:

  • Standard imaging
  • Chemical properties
  • Dielectric/piezoelectric properties
  • Force measurement
  • Electrical properties
  • In-liquid imaging
  • Magnetic properties
  • Mechanical properties
  • Optical properties
  • Thermal properties

When purchasing an AFM, pay careful attention to which SPM modes it supports.

 

Option Compatibility

A good AFM must provide a wide range of option compatibility in order to facilitate data acquisition in a wide variety of conditions and sample environments. Of particular importance are:

  • SLD (Super Luminescence Diode) light source for low coherence
  • Z scanner with scan range of 25 microns
  • Heating & cooling sample stage
  • Liquid cells
  • Live cell chamber
  • Motorized XY sample stage
  • Signal access module
  • Step and scan function for automatic sequential imaging
  • Tunable magnetic field generator
 

What is a Good AFM | Atomic Force Microscopy