|联系我们  Global
  • Park
    XE15
    AFM Technology
 

The most convenient sample measurements with MultiSample™ scan

Park XE15 MultiSample™ scan system

  • 一次性自动多样品成像
  • 特别设计的多样品卡盘,可装载多达16个样品
  • 全机动XY轴样品台,行程范围达150 mm x 150 mm

借助电动样品台,MultiSample™扫描模式能够允许用户自行编程,借助自动化步进扫描,实现多区域成像。

流程如下:
1.记录用户定义的多个扫描位置
2.在第一个扫描位置成像
3.提升悬臂
4.将电动样品台移至下一个用户定义坐标
5.探针接近
6.重复扫描

记录多个扫描位置十分简单,您可以输入样品-样品台坐标或使用两个参考点校正样品位置。该自动化功能大大减少您在扫描过程中需要的工作,极大提高了生产力。

xe15 afm sys
 

Accurate XY Scan by Crosstalk Elimination

Park Systems的先进串扰消除(XE)扫描系统能够有效解决上述问题。我们使用了二维柔性平台专门扫描样品的XY轴位置,并通过压电叠堆传动装置专门扫描探针悬臂的Z轴位置。用于XY轴扫描的柔性平台采用了固体铝材,其具有超高的正交性和出色的平面外运动轨迹。柔性平台可在XY轴扫描大型样品(1 kg左右),频率最高达100 Hz左右。由于XY轴的带宽要求远低于Z轴的带宽要求,因此该扫描速度已然足够。用于Z轴扫描的压电叠堆传动装置具有大的推拉力和高共振频率(约10 kHz)。

 

XE scan system

XE-systems
  • 适用于样品和探针尖端的独立XY轴和Z轴柔性扫描器

XY flexure scanner

3img 4
  • 平直正交的XY轴扫描,残余弯曲低
 

XE-Peformence

3img 7

图9. (a)表示 Park Systems XE系统的背景曲率为零,(b)是传统的原子力显微镜系统的管式扫描器的典型背景曲率, (c)展示了这些背景曲率的横截面。

图9展示了XE系统(a)和传统原子力显微镜(b)扫描硅片时,未处理的成像图。由于硅片属于原子级光滑材料,因此图像中的弯曲大多数是扫描器所引起的。图9(c)展示了图9中(a)(b)图像的横截面。由于管式扫描器本身带有背景曲率,因此当X轴的位置移动15 μm时,平面外移动最大可达80 nm。而在相同的扫描范围内,XE扫描系统的平面外移动则不超过1 nm。XE扫描系统的另一大优势是Z轴伺服回应。图10是XE扫描系统在无接触模式下拍下的一个多孔聚合物球体(二乙烯苯)的图像,其直径大约为5 µm。由于XE扫描系统的Z轴伺服回应极其精准,探针可以精确地沿着聚合物球体上的大曲率以及小孔平面结构移动,而不会压碎或粘连在其表面上。图11是Z轴伺服回应在平坦背景上高性能的表现。

3img 83img 9
Figure 10. Figure 11.
 

Better tip life, sample preservation, and accuracy with True Non-Contact™ Mode

在True Non-Contact™模式中,探针尖端与样品的距离在相互原子力的控制下,被成功地控制在几纳米之间。探针尖端振动幅度下,大大减少了探针与样品的接触,从而完好地保护了探针和样品。

True Non-Contact™ Mode

non-contact
  • 探针磨损更低=高分辨率扫描更长久
  • 无损式探针-样品接触=样品变化程度最小
  • 避免参数依赖

Tapping Imaging

tapping-imaging
  • 探针磨损更快=扫描图像模糊
  • 破坏性探针-样品接触=样品受损变化
  • 高参数依赖性

Longer Tip Life and Less Sample Damage

原子力显微镜探针的尖端十分脆弱,这使得它在接触样品后会快速变钝,从而限制原子力显微镜的分辨率和图像的质量。对于材质较软的样品,探针会破坏样品,导致其高度测量不准确。相应地,探针保持完整性意味着显微镜可以持续提供高分辨率的精确数据。XE系列原子力显微镜的真正非接触模式能够极大程度保护探针,从而延长其寿命,并减少对于样品的破坏。下图中以1:1的长宽比展示了XE系列原子力显微镜扫描浅沟道隔离样品的未处理图像,该样品的深度由扫描电子显微镜(SEM)确定。在成像20次之后,探针几乎有没任何磨损。xe-afm
 

Park XE15 features

2D Flexure-Guided Scanner with 100 µm x 100 µm Scan Range

2D-Flexure-Guided-ScannerXY轴扫描器含有对称的二维柔性和高强度压电叠堆,可在保持平面外运动最少的情况下,实现高正交运动以及纳米级样品扫描下的高响应度。

Flexure-Guided High Force Z Scanner

凭借着高强度压电叠堆和柔性结构,其可以允许扫描器以更高的速度纵向移动,这是传统原子力显微镜中扫描器所无法做到的。最大Z轴扫描范围可从标准的12 µm增至40µm(选购远距离Z轴扫描器)。

Slide-to-Connect SLD Head
sld-head

燕尾式轨道设计,轻松更换原子力显微镜镜头。借助超辐射发光二极管(SLD)的低相干性,显微镜可精确成像高度反光表面和精密测量pico-Newton力对距离光谱。此外,超辐射发光二极管的波长也解决了干扰问题,让用户可随意在可见光谱实验中使用原子力显微镜。

Multi-sample Chuck
xe15 afm multisample chuck

特别设计的多样品卡盘,可装载多达16个样品,可由MultiSample自动扫描模式按序扫描。借助独特的镜头设计,用户可从侧面轻易操作样品和探针。

Motorized XY Sample Stage with Optional Encoders
encoders

在一体式电动XY轴样品台的精确控制下,样品的测量定位变得简单。XY轴样品台的形成范围可设定为150 mm x 150 mm或200 mm x 200 mm。加装编码器后,样品台可实现更高的重复定位精度。在配备编码器后,XY轴样品台的行程精度低至1 µm且重复定位精度低至2 µm,而Z轴样品台的行程精度和重复定位精度分别为0.1 μm和1 μm。

High Resolution Digital CCD Camera with Digital Zoom
直视同轴高分辨率数字CCD镜头带有数码变焦功能,即便在移动过程中,也能带来更高的清晰度,更高的分辨率。
focus-stage

Z轴样品台和聚焦样品台与悬臂连接,得以操控样品表面,且同时能够保证用户有着清晰的视野。此外,得益于聚焦样品台为电动且可软件控制,因此精密度可适用于透明样品和液体单元应用。

Park XE Control Electronics with DSP Board in Controller
1 1 Controller

原子力显微镜的纳米级信号是由高性能的Park XE电子控制器所控制和处理的。凭借着低噪声设计和高速处理单元,Park XE电子控制器成功实现了True Non-Contact™模式,这是纳米级成像和精确电压电流测量的绝佳选择。

•  高性能处理单元,频率达600 MHz,处理速度高达4800 MIPS
•  低噪声设计,带来精确的电流电压测量
•  全能系统,融合各种扫描探针显微镜技术
•  外部信号获取模块,获取原子力显微镜输入/输出信号
•  最大16幅数字图像
•  最大分辨率:4096 × 4096
•  16位ADC/DAC,频率为500 kHz
•  隔离通过TCP/IP连接的电脑电噪声

 

Park XE15 - Technical info | Park Atomic Force Microscope

|Contact Us
  • Park
    XE15
    AFM Technology
 

The most convenient sample measurements with MultiSample™ scan

Park XE15 MultiSample™ scan system

  • Automated imaging of multiple samples in one pass
  • Specially designed multi-sample chuck for the loading of up to 16 individual samples
  • Fully motorized XY sample stage travels up to 150 mm x 150 mm

Using the motorized sample stage, MultiSample Scan™ enables programmable multiple region imaging in step-and-scan automation.

Here’s how it works:
1. Register multiple scan positions defined by a user
2. Image from the first scan position
3. Lift a cantilever
4. Move the motorized stage to the next user defined coordinate
5. Approach
6. Repeat scan

The registration of multiple scan positions are easily carried out by either entering sample-stage coordinates or sample de-skewing by two reference points. This automated feature greatly increases productivity by reducing the need for your interaction during the scan process.

xe15 afm sys
 

Accurate XY Scan by Crosstalk Elimination

Park Systems’ advanced Crosstalk Elimination (XE) scan system effectively addresses all of the above-mentioned problems. In this configuration, we used a 2-dimentional flexure stage to scan the sample in only the XY direction, and a stacked piezoelectric actuator to scan the probe cantilever in the Z direction only. The flexure stage used for the XY scanner is made of solid aluminum. It demonstrates high orthogonality and an excellent out-of-plane motion profile. The flexure stage can scan large samples (~1 kg) up to a few 100 Hz in the XY direction. This scan speed is sufficient because the bandwidth requirement for the XY axes is much lower than that for the Z axis. The stacked piezoelectric actuator for the Z-scanner has a high resonance frequency (~10 kHz) with a high pushpull force when appropriately pre-loaded.

 

XE scan system

XE-systems
  • independent, loop XY and Z flexure scanners for sample and probe tip

XY flexure scanner

3img 4
  • Flat and orthogonal XY scan with low residual bow
 

XE-Peformence

3img 7

Figure 9. Zero background curvature by Park Systems XE-system (a) and typical background curvature of a conventional AFM system with a tube scanner (b). (c) shows the cross section of these background curvatures.

Figure 9. shows unprocessed AFM images of a bare silicon wafer taken with the XE-system (a), and with a conventional AFM (b). Since the silicon wafer is atomically flat, most of the curvatures in the image are scanner-induced artifacts. Figure 9. (c) shows the cross section of the images in Figure 9. (a) and (b). Since the tube scanner has intrinsic background curvatures, the maximum out-of-plane motion is as much as 80 nm when the X-axis moves 15 μm. The XE scan system has less than 1nm of out-of-plane motion for the same scan range. Another advantage of the XE scan system is its Z-servo response. Figure 10. is an image of a porous polymer sphere (Styrene Divinyl Benzene), whose diameter is about 5 µm, taken with the XE-system in Non-Contact mode. Since the Z-servo response of the XE-system is very accurate, the probe can precisely follow the steep curvature of the polymer sphere as well as small porous surface structures without crashing or sticking to the surface. Figure 11. shows another example that demonstrates the high performance of the z-servo response with a flat background.

3img 83img 9
Figure 10. Figure 11.
 

Better tip life, sample preservation, and accuracy with True Non-Contact™ Mode

In True Non-Contact™ Mode, the tip-sample distance is successfully maintained at a few nanometers in the net attractive regime of inter-atomic force. The small amplitude of tip oscillation minimizes the tip-sample interaction, resulting in superb tip preservation and negligible sample modification.

True Non-Contact™ Mode

non-contact
  • Less tip wear = Prolonged high-resolution scan
  • Non-destructive tip-sample interaction = Minimized sample modification
  • Immunity from parameter dependent results

Tapping Imaging

tapping-imaging
  • Quick tip wear = Blurred low-resolution scan
  • Destructive tip-sample interaction = Sample damage and modification
  • Highly parameter-dependent

Longer Tip Life and Less Sample Damage

The sharp end of an AFM tip is so brittle that once it touches a sample, it becomes instantly blunt and limits the resolution of an AFM and reduces the quality of the image. For softer samples, the tip will damage the sample and also result in inaccuracies of sample height measurements. Consequently, preserving tip integrity enables consistent high resolution and accurate data. True Non-Contact Mode of theXE-AFM superbly preserves the tip, resulting in much longer tip life and less sample damageThe figure, displayed in 1:1 aspect ratio, shows the unprocessed raw data image of a shallow trench isolation sample imaged by the XE-AFM, whose depth is also confirmed by scanning electron microscope (SEM). The same tip used in the imaging of the sample shows no tip wear even after taking 20 images. xe-afm
 

Park XE15 features

2D Flexure-Guided Scanner with 100 µm x 100 µm Scan Range

2D-Flexure-Guided-Scanner The XY scanner consists of symmetrical 2-dimensional flexure and high-force piezoelectric stacks provides high orthogonal movement with minimal out-of-plane motion as well as high responsiveness essential for precise sample scanning in the nanometer scale.

Flexure-Guided High Force Z Scanner

Driven by a high-force piezoelectric stack and guided by a flexure structure, its rigidity allows it to move at higher speeds in the vertical direction than the scanners used in conventional AFMs. The maximum Z scan range can be extended from 12 µm to 25µm with the optional long range Z scanner (optional).

Slide-to-Connect SLD Head
sld-head

The AFM head is easily inserted or removed by sliding it along a dovetail rail. The low coherency of the Super Luminescence Diode (SLD) enables accurate imaging of highly reflective surfaces and precise measurements for pico-Newton Force-distance spectroscopy. The SLD wavelength eliminates interference issues for users interested in combining the AFM with experiments in the visible spectrum.

Multi-sample Chuck
xe15 afm multisample chuck

The specially designed multi-sample chuck can load up to 16 individual samples, which can be scanned sequentially by MultiSample Scan Automation. The unique head design allows for easy side access to the sample tip.

Motorized XY Sample Stage with Optional Encoders
encoders

The measurement location of the sample is easily and precisely controlled by the integrated motorized XY stage. The travel range of the XY sample stage can be configured for either 150 mm x 150 mm. The encoders, if used with the motorized stages, enable higher positioning repeatability for accurate sample positioning. The encoded XY stage travels in 1 µm resolution with 2 µm repeatability, and the encoded Z stage, in 0.1 µm resolution with 1 µm repeatability

High Resolution Digital CCD Camera with Digital Zoom
Direct on-axis high resolution digital CCD camera with digital zoom capability allows high clarity and high resolution image quality regardless of panning.
Vertically Aligned Motorized Z Stage and Focus Stage
focus-stage

The Z stage and focus stage engage the cantilever with the sample surface while constantly maintaining a clear field of vision for the user. And because the focus stage is motorized and software controlled, it has the precision necessary for transparent samples and liquid cell applications.

Park XE Control Electronics with DSP Board in Controller
1 1 Controller

The nanoscale signals from the AFM are controlled and processed by the high performance Park XE electronics. With its low noise design and high speed processing unit, Park XE electronics successfully realize True Non-Contact™ mode ideal for nanoscale imaging as well as precise voltage and current measurement.

• High performance processing unit of 600 MHz and 4800 MIPS speed
• Low noise design for precise voltage and current measurement
•  Versatile system to utilize various SPM techniques
•  External Signal Access Module to access AFM input/output signals
•  Maximum 16 data images
•  Maximum data size: 4096 × 4096 pixels
•  ADC/DAC in 16 bit, 500 kHz speed
•  Electric noise isolation from PC by TCP/IP connection

 

Park XE15 - Technical info | Park Atomic Force Microscope