|联系我们  Global
  • Park
    NX-Bio
    SICM and AFM Technology
  • SICM Technology
  • AFM Technology
  • SICM + AFM
 

Scanning Ion Conductance Microscopy (SICM) is the New Generation Bio-microscope

扫描离子电导显微镜可在生理学条件下获取纳米级生物图像,实现200 nm以下的高分辨率。但扫描离子电导显微镜所获取的生物图像不含有任何形态变形信息,而这正是扫描电子显微术(SEM)和原子力显微术(AFM)所无法避免的。

sicm-new-generation
 

Park Scanning Ion Conductance Microscopy

Park Systems所研发的扫描电子显微术(Park SICM)将装有电解质的纳米玻璃移液管(即纳米级的移液管)作为离子传感器,向系统反馈其与完全浸没在液体中的样品之间的相对位置。移液管尖端通过保持离子电流恒定来与样品保持距离。相比之下,原子力显微术十分依赖探针尖端与样品之间的作用力。

pipette

原子力显微术使用超薄悬臂和尖端作为探针。Park SICM所使用的探针便是移液管,内径为80-100纳米(玻璃材质)或30-50纳米(石英材质)。

 

No Force, Non-Contact Imaging in Liquid

pipette2

与室温中采用的扫描隧道显微术(STM)类似,Park SICM在成像时无需与液体中的样品接触。样品和移液管两端的电极会在周边的溶液间产生离子电流。传感器会测量电流强度,一般是随着移液管和样品之间的距离减少而减弱。该电流强度将用来监控两者之间的距离,以指导移液管和样品的位置,保持非接触状态。

 

 

Park SICM Can Image Regardless of Cell Types

  • SICM可成像最柔软的细胞,例如神经元,而AFM则只适用于硬细胞表面,如肌肉细胞和骨细胞。
sicm-range
  • SIC甚至可以成像悬浮的神经元网络
network-neuronalCourtesy of Prof. Ushiki (Niigata Univ., Japan)
 
 

Advanced Park AFM Technology Enables to Perform Accurate Force-distance Spectroscopy

原子力显微术的力对距离(FD)光谱是一个十分有用的工具,可特征化各类型生物材料的生物机械属性。在力对距离(FD)光谱扫描中,悬臂尖端由Z轴扫描器的精确控制,在特定作用力下压入样品表面。行业领先的低噪声Z轴探测器可精确控制Z轴扫描器的移动,从而向样品表面施加正确的作用力,以便获取更精细的纳米牛顿级生物机械特征。

 
  • 力对距离光谱测量探针尖端与样品之间的相互机械作用力。
  • 力对距离曲线是通过将悬臂压入样品表面而获取的。
perform-afm
  • 原子力显微镜下单根肌纤维的纳米力学。
cell-mechanicInternational Nano-Conference(ICN+T), Basel (CH), 2006, Noemi Rozlosnik Technical University of Denmark
 
 
 

Advanced Bio-mechanical Property Measurement by Calculating Elastic Modulus (Young’s Modulus)

根据准确的力对距离光谱数据,弹性模量(杨氏模量)可通过赫兹模型和Oliver模型自动计算。这两种计算方法内置在XEI数据分析软件中,能够强化力对距离曲线中生物机械数据的验证。

 
  • 根据准确的力对距离光谱数据,弹性模量(杨氏模量)可通过赫兹模型和Oliver模型自动计算。这两种计算方法内置在XEI数据分析软件中,能够强化力对距离曲线中生物机械数据的验证。
applied-force
  • 使用赫兹模型计算杨氏模量
hertzian-model
 
 

Park SICM and Park AFM Technologies Put Together

Outstanding Investigation Tool for Biological Research by Combining Physiological Morphology with Bio-Mechanical Property Measurements

Park NX-Bio combines Park SICM’s ability to interpret morphology under true physiological conditions and Park AFM’s capacity to acquire bio-mechanical property data (elastic modulus) accurately. This enables researchers to understand the fundamentals of their biological materials at a deeper level.

nx-bio-afm-sicm
 

Park NX-Bio - Technical Info | Park Atomic Force Microscope | Scanning Ion Conductance Microscopy

|Contact Us
  • Park
    SICM and AFM Technology
  • SICM Technology
  • AFM Technology
  • SICM + AFM

The SICM of Park NX-Bio is the next generation nanoscale microscope for life science

Park SICM can acquire biological images at nanoscale in physiological conditions, attaining high resolution of less than 200 nm. The biological images obtained from SICM are free from morphological deformation, which can occur from scanning electron microscopy (SEM) or even AFM systems.


Park SICM uses nanopipettes

In Scanning Ion Conductance Microscopy developed by Park Systems (Park SICM), a glass nanopipette filled with an electrolyte acts as an ion sensor that provides feedback on its location relative to a sample completely immersed in liquid. The pipette tip maintains its distance from the sample by keeping the ionic current constant. In comparison, AFM typically relies on interaction of forces between its probe tip and the sample.


AFM uses a micro-thin cantilever and tip as a probe. For Park SICM, the pipette is a probe with an inner diameter ranging from 80 to 100 nanometers for pipettes made of glass and 30-50 nanometers for those made of quartz.


No Force, Non-Contact Imaging in Liquid


Similar to Scanning Tunneling Microscopy (STM) operating in ambient air, the Park SICM operates in liquid without making physical contact with the sample. Electrodes on either side of the sample and pipette produce ionic current that flows through the surrounding solution. A sensor measures the current flow, which decreases as the distance between the pipette and sample becomes smaller, and monitors the distance between the pipette and the sample to obtain the topology.



Park SICM Can Image All Cell Types

  • Park SICM can image even the softest cells such as the neuron cells, live—something that’s impossible with any other microscopy techniques.
  • SICM can even image suspended network of neurons
network-neuronalCourtesy of Prof. Ushiki (Niigata Univ., Japan)

Advanced Park AFM Technology Enables Accurate Force-distance Spectroscopy

Force-distance (FD) spectroscopy using an AFM is a beneficial tool to characterize bio-mechanical properties of various biological materials. In FD spectroscopy, the cantilever tip touches the sample surface with a user prescribed amount of force accurately applied using the AFM’s Z scanner. Park AFM’s industry leading low noise Z detector allows the researcher to control Z scanner movement to apply an exact amount of force very accurately to a sample surface during the FD spectroscopy. This enables the researcher to collect detailed bio-mechanical characterization data at the nano-newton scale.

  • Nanomechanics of Single Muscle Fibers by AFM
cell-mechanicInternational Nano-Conference(ICN+T), Basel (CH), 2006, Noemi Rozlosnik Technical University of Denmark
  • Force Distance Spectroscopy measures the mechanical interaction force between the tip end and the sample.
  • The force-distance curve is acquired by indenting the cantilever to sample surface.

Advanced Bio-mechanical Property Measurement by Calculating Elastic Modulus (Young’s Modulus)

The Herzian and Oliver Pharr models are calculated automatically from the Park AFM's accurate FD spectroscopy data to determine the elastic modulus (Young's modulus). Both of these calculation methods are included in Park XEI, the data analysis software in Park NX-Bio. They strengthen the biomechanical data verification of FD curves obtained in your experiments.

  • Acquiring the actual depth, sample deformed by applied force
    (separation - force curve)
  • Calculating Young's Modulus in Hertzian model

Park SICM and Park AFM Technologies Put Together

Outstanding Investigation Tool for Biological Research by Combining Physiological Morphology with Bio-Mechanical Property Measurements

Park NX-Bio combines Park SICM’s ability to interpret morphology under true physiological conditions and Park AFM’s capacity to acquire bio-mechanical property data (elastic modulus) accurately. This enables researchers to understand the fundamentals of their biological materials at a deeper level.


Park NX-Bio - Technical Info | Park Atomic Force Microscope | Scanning Ion Conductance Microscopy