|Contact Us  Global
park logo
Park Systems  Webinar -  December 22, 2016

 

Note: This webinar will be presented in Mandarin / 官话 / 官話.

Join us for a webinar to learn about one of the cutting-edge applications of nanoscientific research:

In-Air and In-Liquid AFM Imaging with PinPoint Nanomechanical Mode


 As the most abundant (25 to 35%) protein in mammals, collagen is found everywhere in connective tissues, including bone, skin, and muscle. Thus characterization of the structure, compositions, and mechanical properties of collagen fibrils is crucial in understanding their performance over time.

Atomic force microscopy (AFM), as a powerful nanotechnology tool, has been widely used to determine the morphology, mechanical properties, and in situ self-assembly processes of collagen fibrils. Conventional techniques to characterize these collagen fibrils are mainly based on AFM force-volume spectroscopy, which collects force-distance (F-d) curves at each pixel to calculate material properties. However, these techniques have been recognized as being exceedingly slow. It takes hours to acquire an elasticity map. Driven by the demand for a much faster technique, Park Systems developed the PinPoint Nanomechanical Mode to provide a solution that is at least 100 times faster than traditional techniques. With this application, an elasticity map can be acquired within minutes and with a correlated topography image that reveals the position and orientation of the sample. This mode represents a new application tool for acquiring real-time topography and quantitative mechanical property maps of various materials, ranging from hard disks to soft tissues. Here, we report imaging collagen fibrils using the PinPoint Nanomechanical Mode.

 

161019-bundle-of-collagen-fibrils
Bundle of collagen fibrils imaged in-air
using PinPoint Nanomechanical Mode
Image size: 256 x 256 px / Scan size: 5 x 5 um
 
 
 

Webinar Details

Date:
Thursday, Dec 22, 2016

Time:

5:00 pm – 6:00 pm (PST)
San Francisco, Los Angeles

8:00 pm – 9:00 pm (EST)
Boston, New York

(Dec 23)
1:00 am – 2:00 am (GMT)
London

(Dec 23)
2:00 am – 3:00 am (CET)
Paris, Rome

(Dec 23)
9:00 am – 10:00 am (CST)

Beijing

 

 
 
Register Now!

 

 

 
 
 
 

System Requirements

GoToMeeting

PC-based attendees
Windows 7, Vista, XP 2003 Server 

Mac-based attendees
MacOS 10.5
or newer

 

Park Lectures - Park Atomic Force Microscope